A Quarter Century

Over the weekend, I turned twenty-five. My mom considers it a milestone of a birthday. A quarter of a century. It’s a time for partying and for being excited about the future. Your twenties are supposed to be some of the best years of your life, after all!

I don’t know why they say that.

My twenties have been nothing more than a period of uncertainty over the past year and I don’t think that’s going to change any time soon. When I graduated last year, I was excited for what the future held. I couldn’t wait to start my career and meet people and write. I had met so many new people and was ready for the opportunities that awaited me.

I realize now that your twenties are actually confusing and uncertain, especially when you feel like you’re falling behind everyone else. You see the people around you starting their new careers and getting married—some even having children—and buying their first homes. You feel stuck because nothing in your life is changing, and you aren’t certain when it will change.

It’s a feeling I’m becoming familiar with. Over the past year, I’ve applied for numerous jobs, but only had five interviews. One went good, one was an unexpected phone interview that I flubbed, and the other three were only interested in my retail experience, not my education. Now, we’re in an economic slump where I am. There’s been lay-offs everywhere, and now the entry level positions I may have normally had a shot at are being filled by people with experience who have been laid off and are not choosy about taking entry level jobs. I try to remind myself that it is what it is, but a bad economy makes job hunting even more discouraging.

I can’t say where I’ll be five years from now, of course. I don’t know what the coming months will bring. All I can do is fill my time with writing and friends and the things in life that I love to do. I can continue to go on Sunday morning hikes and replay some of my favourite video games. I can learn how to make new foods. I can take a few fun classes. I can volunteer.

I can fill the coming days one at a time, and try not to let the confusion and uncertainty get the better of me.

Categories: musings, This is my life | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

