Farewell Frankfurt and There are Worse Things on a Plane than Crying Babies

The last day of our trip was devoted mainly to last minute shopping. We’d been picking up Christmas gifts for friends and family throughout the trip, but this was the opportunity to grab anything for people we’d either purposely left until last, or just thought of during the course of our stay. We began with (complimentary) breakfast at the hotel before heading back out into the Christmas Market.

Part of the deal was that we needed to split up. My sisters and I had been scoping about for a gift to get our parents for their anniversary—something silver, for the 25 years, that we could get engraved. What we decided on was a decorative silver dish, with the bridge carved into it (the very bridge where we had placed a lock at the beginning of our trip). Though there was very little area for engraving, we figured it was an excellent choice.

(We were, in the end, unable to get the dish engraved. Our local engraver wouldn’t do it because the item was from out of the country, and therefore not easily replaced if something went wrong. Our parents didn’t mind.)

We eventually met up with our parents again, and after lunch my sisters decided that they were done shopping and headed back to the hotel. We decided to explore, trying to find areas near the Christmas Market that we had never seen before.

104_0912

Strange new friends

Strange new friends

By the time we decided to head back to the hotel, we had gotten lost.

We spent a good hour wandering around, trying to find the train station, since we could easily navigate from there. We eventually had to ask for directions. While it was a long walk and the cobblestone streets had really worn our feet down in the past two weeks, I did get to see the Frankfurt Opera House.

104_0924

104_0926

Once we got back to the hotel and rested a while, my dad decided we should head out for supper. Only my sisters and I went with him, as my mom was done with walking for the day. We tried for a restaurant in the train station, but it was closed by the time we got there.

So, for our last night in Germany, we went to an American-style restaurant.

104_0928

The next day was all flying as we prepared for our ten-hour return flights. We went back the same way we’d come—three hours to Iceland, a half-hour or so to switch planes, and then six back to Canada. The first flight was fine, and I spent the whole time of it watching The Originals.

There was one major issue during the six-hour flight, however, and it had nothing to do with the babies on board.

During the entire flight, there was a gentleman who kept wandering from one end of the plane to the other. We had no idea why he kept doing this, but assumed it was because he knew people who were seated in the back. It was a steady back and forth across the plane over the six-hour period.

This would not have been so bad if the guy didn’t stink like death.

It was like something between a full litter box, smoker’s body odor, and some horrific, unidentifiable stank. He pumped that stench like a smokestack and it lingered in the air for minutes after he’d gone by. There were periods where we’d be trapped with the smell because he would stand around and wait for the refreshment cart to make its way down the rows.

We spent so much of the trip trying to suffer through the smell until it faded. I tried to plug my nose in such a way that it looked like I was really engrossed in the movie I was watching. My sister buried her nose in her shirt collar, and later resorted to sniffing my coffee. My dad was on the verge of being sick, and buried his face in my mom’s arm. The smell was so bad that napping passengers actually woke up because of it. Eventually it got to the point where I was actively peering down the rows to see if he was getting up and giving my family warnings of his arrival.

I don’t think anyone said anything to the attendants though. Perhaps someone should have.

We arrived at the airport, got our luggage, and headed home with no major difficulties. It was six in the evening, but I only managed to stay up for a few hours before exhaustion won over and I crashed.

Thus, we conclude my trip to Germany. My thoughts? Easily one of the best vacations I’ve ever been on. The Markets were beautiful, the food was amazing, and our experience was about 85% good (barring the few incidents centered on that one day). I would seriously recommend to my readers to go and see Germany for themselves someday. I hope you enjoyed reading about my adventures.

Next week, we return to our regular writer musings.

Bonus: My sister’s friend Michelle house-sat for us while we were gone. These were some Facebook messages she sent us in regards to our pets, Frodo, Neeko (cats) and Jersey (dog).

“Does Frodo always sleep like an idiot? He keeps ramming his face into me.”

“Is Neeko…special needs or something? He won’t stop meowing.”

“Your dog keeps staring at me for no reason.”

Categories: This is my life, travel | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

