Christmas Eve Greetings

By some ridiculous play of calendar fate, the next two Wednesdays both fall on holidays. As such, I will be moving my posts about my Germany trip to the New Year. This is probably the best course of action since we’re all busy this time of year.

On the note of Germany though, Christmas Eve is probably one of the few little traditions we have from the German side of my family. For those unaware, where Canada and the US have their big meal / celebration on Christmas Day, Germans (and maybe some other parts of Europe, I’m not sure) have theirs on Christmas Eve. We’ve never done all of our celebration on Christmas Eve, mostly because we were more used to doing it the Canadian way. For us, Christmas Eve meant we got to open a few presents early.

(We also celebrate St. Nick’s Day on December 6th, leaving out boots by the door the previous night and finding them filled with chocolate the next day.)

This year, we’ll be celebrating both days: today as hosted by German friends, tomorrow hosted by us. I’m looking forward to being unable to move because of all the food.

I do enjoy most aspects of Christmas. I love the decorations. I love all the food. I love seeing friends and family. I really, really love giving out gifts (and getting them too, but giving is more fun). I’m always excited to see the collective reactions of my friends and family when the open the gifts I’ve gotten them, whether those gifts be big or something little I thought they might like.

Several years of working retail, however, means I could really do without the music. There’s only so many times you can hear “Sleigh Ride,” “Frosty the Snowman,” and “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” before you descend into madness.

Our trip to see the Germany Christmas Markets has only made this year’s Christmas a bit more special. I look forward to sharing some of my experiences once all of the holiday fuss has died down.

In the meantime, I hope all of you enjoy your holidays. May there be good food and good company. May all you give strike home and bring joy, and may all you receive be just what you needed (with a little of what you wanted as well).

Categories: This is my life | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

