The Profit in Pleasure

I could easily make a Twitter called “Erotica My Mom Tells Me To Write.”

It all started about a year ago. I was scoping my Facebook page when I noted that someone posted a link to an article dealing with a book series involving dinosaur erotica.

I’m going to repeat that for you. Dinosaur. Erotica.

Something that ridiculous sounding is just begging to have the link clicked. It was just as weird and awkward as it sounds, while simultaneously being the most hilarious thing I’d ever seen. Of course, I shared this story with my mom. Along with some information about erotica that probably spurred her new method of making my eyes roll.

The creation of e-books like the Kobo or the Kindle have caused a mass boost in erotica sales. No longer do you have to walk into the local book shop and awkwardly keep your head down while paying for your werewolf/vampire/unicorn/zombie/whatever-you’re-into erotic novels. You can buy your favourite kinky books in the comfort of your own home, with no employees trying to hold back their judging grins while bagging your purchase.

So why is my mom making erotica jokes? Because I told her that, in one article I read, the author of the dinosaur erotica said her work was selling so well that she was able to quit her job and start going to school part time.

I’ve been told by others that they have friends—usually professors of some sort—who write erotica on the side and can afford to spend entire winters skiing because of it. Another case I heard was of a writer whose entire living revolves around erotic short stories. She pays all of her bills and can afford to go to Cuba every year with the money she makes.

So, yes, while it can be annoying to have my mom constantly suggest things like “statue erotica” or “dragon-unicorn-threesome erotica” or whatever weird crap she makes up on the spot to annoy me, she’s not exactly wrong in suggesting it. Formulaic and profitable, writing the most bizarre tales of lust under a false name is a great way for an author to supplement their income while putting their actual name on what they really wish to be writing.

People who discourage others from the path of authorship often use the “you won’t make a lot of money” reasoning to do so. And this is true. Not every writer gets a six digit publishing deal, nor does every writer become a best seller who can produce a new book every one or two years. Much like some of your favourite child actors, some writers maybe have one or two publications before moving on with different careers. And, as much as some of us would like to, there’s no denying the success of Fifty Shades of Grey.

Does that mean I might take my mom’s joking advice and turn to erotica to make some money? There was a point when I’d say absolutely not.

Though, considering I have no idea how to even deal with erotica, I can’t say the possibility is in the near future. I can’t imagine I’ll get much writing done when I’m too busy laughing at myself—being the mature adult that I am.

What do you think, readers?

Categories: musings, On Writing | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

