There Are Many Things I’m Thankful For, These Are Just A Few Of Them

Here up north, Thanksgiving has just passed. We sat around warm company, bellies full of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and more dessert than we should have eaten. There’s a build up to the meal. The prep work done the night before: peeling and cutting the vegetables, assembling the stuffing, setting up the kitchen. The next afternoon is full of raw turkey and vegetable preparations and making sure you have enough dessert for everyone. But it’s all worth it for the great meal to come.

I’m thankful for a lot of things in my life. There’s the usual, of course: the roof over my head, my family, my friends, the food we eat, the company we keep, our health. But I’ve got some other things I’m truly thankful for.

I’m thankful for the time I have to write and for the words I use. The internet, which has made research so much easier and allows me to connect with others, is another thing to be grateful for. I’m thankful for my beta-readers—especially the ones who are always eager to read what I’ve written. I’m thankful for the nitpicker in our writer’s group for the stuff he picks up. I’m glad for the friends who are still struggling to find a job, not because they’re struggling, but because we support each other in this time of frustration.

I’m glad to hear my sister laughing and making dirty jokes to people as she plays World of Warcraft in the room next to me. I’m thankful for my other sister, who will take our cat into her room when he’s being too annoying for me to sleep. I’m thankful for the dad who picks me up from work when it’s dark or cold out, even though I could walk. I’m thankful for my mom for being someone to talk to.

I’m thankful for my weekly breakfast at Cora’s, followed by a two hour hike in the River Valley with my mom and her friend. I’m thankful for the extra hiking I occasionally get in with a friend I’ve reconnected with. I’m thankful for the safe return of a friend who was gone for years.

I’m thankful for you folks who watch this blog. Thank you.

If your Thanksgiving is passed, I hope it was a grand one. If you’re still waiting on Thanksgiving, I hope it turns out to great.

Categories: This is my life | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.