In Which I Can’t Make a Video Work, So Lets Talk Candy

It seems October was so busy for me, that I’ve neglected to properly update my poor blog. But it’s better something come late rather than never.

I had dearly hoped to show my followers a video from the launch of my program’s student Anthology: The PROWlers. I had written a lovely monologue called Metalman and was asked to perform it for the crowd at the release during LitFest. I was even paid for it by the LitFest Organizers!

Regrettably, there have been multiple failures where this video is concerned. We can’t seem to get it run for longer than three minutes and thirty seconds, when the monologue is a little over five minutes long. As such, until this is figured out, I can’t post it here.

It’s too bad too. It’s probably the first recording of myself I don’t actually sound like a guy in.

But I shall instead talk about the wonderful Halloween I had—minus any unfortunate hiccups.

It’s become a bit of tradition with my friends to go and hand out candy on Halloween at West Edmonton Mall. It all started with my mom. A staunch believer in old school Halloween, she’s not entirely pleased with the idea of trick-or-treating at the mall. She thinks kids should put on their big coats and go and earn their candy like my sisters and I did as kids. She relents that it’s all well-and-good when the weather is bad (and in Edmonton, that can happen rather suddenly). However, she takes issue with the malls themselves. It bothers her to see malls advertise “Indoor Trick-or-Treating from 6-9pm!” only to find that kids showing up at 6:30 are being turned away because management only shelled out for one of those thirty packs of chocolate bars.

“If that’s the case,” she tells me, “then the employees should each chip in five bucks, get one of their asses down to Safeway, and buy a new box!”

I told this story to my friends over nachos at Hudson’s several years ago. We had come to the mall in full costume after school to hang out. Randomly, we decided to go and buy a box of candy and “reverse trick-or-treat.” It was insanely fun.

I’ve never lived in a busy neighbourhood for trick-or-treating. We’re lucky if we get one or two kids a year, so actually giving candy to kids was a really new experience for me. It was really nice. Some of these kids get really excited about their candy! We agreed to do it again the following year.

The following year we also learned that if one is handing out candy in West Ed, never, ever, ever start doing so at the Ice Palace because that is where the children gather. I think we were out of candy in under twenty minutes.

This year was much like the first year, but with pre-purchased candy. It was great hanging out with my friend Sarah—a talent seamstress, might I add; she made my costume—and hanging out. We got pizza, people wanted to take our pictures, and there were all sorts of cute kids running around.

Highlights: The kid who was really thrilled to get Fuzzy Peaches and the toddler Iron Man who saw me giving out candy and rocketed away from his mom to get his share.

In my observation, however, West Ed is really good for Halloween. Most, if not all, the stores participate and I didn’t notice any “Out of Candy” signs until Sarah I left Boston Pizza at around 8pm, when a lot of kids were headed home. As I walked with Sarah to the doors leading to the bus stop, I gave a handful of candy to a little pirate-princess and we ended up having a conversation with her mother.

Both apparently lived near Southgate, and the mother was telling me that they originally planned to go to Southgate Mall. Upon inspecting the website, however, she found that only five stores were participating. When my dad came to pick me up, he told me Southgate was packed when he went there to pick up some food from the local restaurant.

My mom considers Southgate one of the worst offenders for candy-giving, but I had no idea it was that bad.

Perhaps Southgate will be next year’s Reverse Trick-or-Treat destination.

 

 

Categories: This is my life | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

